TinyMe Forum
wireless networking and ndiswrapper - Printable Version

+- TinyMe Forum (http://tinymelinux.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Archive (/forum-30.html)
+--- Forum: Archives (/forum-31.html)
+--- Thread: wireless networking and ndiswrapper (/thread-52.html)



wireless networking and ndiswrapper - matt_twam_asi - 09-19-2008 04:47 PM

Hi,

First of all, great work on TinyMe, It's given my Compaq Evo 160 laptop a new lease of life!

I'm having trouble with the PCMCIA wireless card, which has the Realtek 8185 chip. I've just done a clean install of TinyMe 2008.0. When I try to set up wireless networking through PCLinuxOS CC > Network Interface > Set up a new interface, the wireless card appears as one of the options, (Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8185 etc.) but then on the next step my wireless network isn't being displayed - there is just an option for 'Unlisted - edit manually'. I have made sure that the router's SSID is broadcast, and I have removed WPA security.

I then tried using the included drivers with ndiswrapper, but after selecting the .inf file I get the message
Quote:Unable to find the ndiswrapper interface!
followed by
Quote:Firmware files are required for this device.

The required files can also be installed from this URL: http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/medi ... x.php/List

(N.B. the above address is not currently working! It seems that there is a new url: http://sourceforge.net/projects/ndiswrapper).

Synaptic lists ndiswrapper as being installed. I'm out of ideas, any help would be very much appreciated!

Many thanks,

Matt


Re: wireless networking and ndiswrapper - amir - 09-19-2008 05:01 PM

Hi matt_twam_asi.
try to config you network to DHCP!
after it is DHCP it will take the packages and will install them.
then you can config your network to wireless network .


Re: wireless networking and ndiswrapper - matt_twam_asi - 09-20-2008 07:14 AM

Hi Amir,

Sorry to be dense, but could you explain a bit further?

When you say configure my network to DHCP, do you mean on the router? If so, then the router is already set up with DHCP.

If you mean on the laptop, how do I do this?


Re: wireless networking and ndiswrapper - amir - 09-20-2008 08:17 AM

Hi matt_twam_asi.
1- if the router is on DHCP good, And I hope that the NAT is on.
2-i mean on the leptop, in the wizard of the TinyMe network:
[Image: snapshot42cm4og4.png]
[Image: snapshot43ih4ff1.png]
[Image: snapshot44qn3gx7.png]
[Image: snapshot45uo7kh9.png]
[Image: snapshot46kd6ai6.png]
[Image: snapshot47ni6li4.png]
[Image: snapshot48nl3pk5.png]
[Image: snapshot49dd5tt3.png]

that is it matt_twam_asi, first you need to have out going network,
and to have any network that can get the DHCP working for downloading
your packages for your wireless network .


Re: wireless networking and ndiswrapper - matt_twam_asi - 09-21-2008 09:20 PM

Hi,

Just to let you know that I've switched to TinyFlux as it had no problems with ndiswrapper - it found my network straight away. Not sure what the problem was... Anyway, thanks for your help.

Matt